WSM Drivers Conwright, Keyes, Denes, and Whelden win 2014 FCC Championships

Posted on Posted in Formula Car Challenge, FormulaSPEED, Open Wheel, VMB Driver Development

2014 Formula Car Challenge presented by Goodyear National and West Coast Regional Champions Crowned
West Coast Region Season Finale held as part of the NASA Western States Championships at Sonoma Raceway

Formula Car Challenge presented by Goodyear 2014 National and Regional Champions crowned
PHOTO: Parker Nicklin and Jaden Conwright (both have won championships in the FS2.0 class) are seen here battling it out in the Pro Formula Mazda Class at the 2014 NASA Western States Championships at Sonoma Raceway

The Formula Car Challenge presented by Goodyear visited Sonoma Raceway for the double header finale this past weekend. In West Coast Region points, Jaden Conwright had already locked the FS2.0 class championship, and Alex Keyes had secured the Pro FM championship, but the Formula Mazda championship was up for grabs. Cameron Parsons, Stew Tabak, and Tazio Ottis showed up to the event within a few points of one another, and the championship came down to the very last race. In the end Parsons won the championship by a narrow 2 point margin.

2014  West Coast Region FCC Champions

  • Pro Formula Mazda: Alex Keyes
  • Formula Mazda: Cameron Parsons
  • FormulaSPEED2.0: Jaden Conwright

The FCC NASA National Champions were decided by the cumulative points from the three races held over the weekend.

NASA National Race One Winners

NASA National Race Two Winners

NASA National Race Three Winners

2014  NASA NATIONAL FCC Champions

  • Formula Mazda: Bill Weaver
  • FormulaSPEED2.0: Phillippe Denes
  • Pro Formula Mazda: Michael Whelden
FCC National Champions are eligible for the 2014 Mazda MX-5 Cup Club Racer Shootout. Saturday night the series celebrated the end of the season at World Speed Headquarters. The series champions were recognized, and James Kim and Bill Keyes were also recognized for all of their hard work and dedication during the 2014 season on Alex Keyes’ car.”We have to thank all of the competitors who participated this season,” noted Series Official Jeff Loge. “We had 51 unique racers in our events this season, and that made for some very exciting racing. Of course it also couldn’t have been as successful without the help of our marketing partners; Mazda, Goodyear, Red Line Oil, GoPro, and NASA.”

The series heads to Southern California next, for the FCC Winter Series on the Auto Club Speedway road course January 16th-18th.  Many of the FCC competitors are starting to make announcements for 2015, and some already have secured some great rides for next season. An upcoming newsletter will share all the details of where the current FCC alumni are headed. The 2015 schedule is currently being finalized, and that information will be available to racers soon.

More information: