Early Team History Overview

Posted on Posted in Uncategorized


World Speed Motorsports was started in 1991 well before the Internet cataloged every race result, and event. Here are some team highlights and history from the early years.

In WSM’s developmental years, founder Chuck West won multiple open wheel races and championships. The team podiumed in the Toyota Atlantic series multiple times including a win at Gateway with driver Case Montgomery. Current owner Telo Stewart was World Speed’s Formula Mazda/Renault Team Manager from 1997-2002, and Stewart won the SFR Formula Mazda Championship as a driver in 1997. In 2001 Michael McDowell posted multiple podiums in Formula Renault including three wins and he finished the season vice-champion under Stewart’s guidance.

World Speed Motorsports Pro Mazda Championship results from 1991-2001:
2001 Overall Champion Scott Bradley
2000 3rd Overall Grant Ryley
1999 2nd Overall Jeff Bucknum
1998 2nd Overall Mikel Miller with four wins and four track records. 3rd place was WSM driver Jeff Bucknum.
1997 2nd Overall Jim Hall II. WSM driver Mikel Miller Finished third in Star Mazda Pro Series standings with four straight wins and seven track records. Claimed Rookie of the Year honors.
1995 2nd Overall Pete Wise
1994 2nd Overall Pete Wise
1993 Overall Champion Ben Massey
1992 Overall Champion Chuck West
1991 2nd Place Chuck West