World Speed Motorsports Driver Frank Cusack Wins Winter Series Championship

Posted on Posted in Atlantic, Formula Car Challenge, Open Wheel

Formula_Car_Challenge_presented_by_GoodyearTriple Header in Southern California Closes out the 2010-11 Formula Car Challenge presented by Goodyear Winter SeriesĀ Frank Cusack is crowned champion in Pro FM, and Dutch Schultz wins the championship in Formula Mazda

The Formula Car Challenge presented by Goodyear visited beautiful Southern California to finish out this year’s seven race Winter Series. Twenty nine drivers participated in the series this winter. Only two drivers won twice in the series; Pro FM driver Jim Mashburn and Formula Mazda driver Dutch Schultz. Both drivers took the top spot on the podium in their respective class this past weekend at Auto Club Speedway.

The series held seven races over three weekends and visited Infineon Raceway, Phoenix International Raceway, and Auto Club Speedway. At the final tally World Speed Motorsports driver Frank Cusack won the Winter Series championship in the Pro Formula Mazda class, and Dutch Schultz won in the FM class. Cusack also won the 2010 SFR SCCA Formula Atlantic Championship with WSM this past season. Dutch Shultz has a history of racing his Formula Mazda in the CalClub Region, and with the Vintage Auto Racing Association in Southern California.

The FCC Winter Series has historically been a great place for drivers and teams to get started as they gear up for the upcoming racing season. In the past many teams including World Speed Motorsports, Richie Hearn Racing, Goshen Motorsports, Phenom Racing Group, John Walko Racing, and Team Apex have participated. Last year’s FCC Winter Series Pro FM champion was Jorge Goncalvez who has been testing in Indy Lights as he prepares to enter the series in 2011.

The drivers and teams are now gearing up for race one of the 2011 FCC presented by Goodyear West Coast Region championships which takes place on March 19th at Infineon Raceway.