2017 VMB Scholarship Nominees Announced

Posted on Posted in Formula Car Challenge, FormulaSPEED, Open Wheel, Uncategorized, VMB Driver Development

VMB Driver Development ScholarshipsFor over 20 years the World Speed Motorsports Rising Star Award has provided a test to young racers looking to move up the open-wheel racing ladder. Starting in the 2014 season, the Rising Star Award added a new component, a full season ride in a FormulaSPEED provided by VMB Driver Development.

It was announced today that four young racers have been awarded the 2016 World Speed Motorsports Rising Star Award, and one of them will be moving up into the GEN2 FormulaSPEED class of the Formula Car Challenge for 2017.

Introducing this year’s nominees:

The Test Day:
Each of the selected drivers will be scored on driving ability, technical feedback, and communication with the WSM/VMB team members. Staff from World Speed Motorsports will discuss the merits of each driver, and provide a complete report on all drivers to VMB Driver Development. VMB will then select the scholarship winner to pilot the VMB Academy FormulaSPEED for the 2017 season. The driver testing will take place at Buttonwillow Raceway Park on November 9th. The racers will be tested on the track for their driving skills, and in the garage for their technical understanding of the sport and off-track business, marketing and PR skills.

Some of the past WSM Rising Star Award winners have included:

  • Scott Speed – F1, NASCAR, Global Rally Cross
  • Joey Hand – Ford and BMW Factory Driver, 24 Hours of Daytona & 12 Hour of Sebring winner
  • Sage Karam – Indy Lights Champion
  • Joel Miller – Team USA, Grand Am Rolex GX vice-champion, Mazda factory prototype driver
  • Cole Whitt-  NASCAR
  • Michael Self – NASCAR
  • Conor Daly – Pro Mazda Champion, Team USA, Indy Lights, GP3, IndyCar
  • Neil Alberico – Pro Mazda Championship vice-champion, Team USA, Indy Lights